Daylight Saving Time 2013 - FOX 35 News Orlando

Daylight Savings Time Ends

Daylight Saving Time 2013

Posted: Updated:

Daylight Saving Time began Sunday, March 10, 2013, and ends on Sunday November 3, 2013.

Daylight Saving Time (sometimes called Daylight Savings Time) ends at 2 a.m. This means the daylight will begin earlier in the morning when clocks fall back and the sun will set earlier.

With modern technology, people have to worry about it less, with most phones auto-setting themselves to sync with the time change and computers also updating automatically.

However, it still can be confusing. Most people remember the trick to clock changing by the old quote of "spring forward, fall backward," which reminds us to set the clocks forward for Daylight Saving Time in the spring and backward for Standard Time but more than 10 percent of people in the United States turn their clocks in the wrong direction.

Those results come from a 2010 Rasmussen Reports survey of 1,000 adults.

Another finding from the survey showed that 27 percent of the respondents had arrived late or early somewhere because they didn't change their clocks at the start or end of DST.

And less than half of the people surveyed felt like Daylight Saving Time was worth the hassle of changing clocks.

So What is Daylight Saving Time? Its origins go back to Benjamin Franklin. He supposedly came up with the idea of Daylight Saving Time as a way of allowing people to use daylight more effectively. Yet, it was not put into practice across most of the United States until 1967.

The point of setting the clocks back is to give an extra hour of daylight in the afternoon, while having an hour less of daylight in the morning. The goal is to conserve energy with more daylight during the hours where most people are active, although some studies have found little energy savings.

Info Please reports that Daylight Saving Time has gone through changes and updates over the years.

New Daylight Saving Time

Beginning in 2007, Daylight Savings Time was expanded. Americans now observe Daylight Savings Time from the second Sunday of March until the first Sunday of November.

If you live in Arizona, Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands, those areas don't observe daylight time.

Other countries observe this time change as well, though many Americans mistakenly think of it as a uniquely U.S. practice. reported that there are different countries around the world that observe Daylight Savings Time. Among them are Albania, Greece, Fiji, Egypt, Denmark, and Bulgaria.

Fire departments use the date as a reminder for consumers to check the batteries in their smoke and carbon monoxide detectors.

Powered by WorldNow

35 Skyline Drive
Lake Mary, FL 32746

Phone: (407) 644-3535
News Tips: (866) 55-FOX35

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices