Orlando teacher wins 2014 Florida Teacher of the Year - FOX 35 News Orlando

Orlando teacher wins 2014 Florida Teacher of the Year

Posted: Updated:

An Orlando middle school teacher has been named Florida's 2014 Teacher of the Year.

Dorina Sackman of Westridge Middle School in Orange County was presented the award Thursday night during a ceremony at Hard Rock Live at Universal CityWalk.

She will spend the next year touring the state to spread the word about educational challenges and opportunities in Florida.

Sackman and four other finalists were selected in May from among 72 school district nominees: Nancy Smith, of Citrus High School in Citrus County; Apryl Shackelford, of Northwestern Middle School in Duval County; Patricia Gair, of Cypress Lake High School in Lee County; and Katrin Rudge, of Riverview High School in Sarasota County.

Sackman will receive a $10,000 grant funded by the Macy's Foundation, along with an all-expense-paid trip for four to New York City to attend the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade.

Follow us on Pinterest


FOX 35 Weather Authority

Powered by WorldNow

35 Skyline Drive
Lake Mary, FL 32746

Phone: (407) 644-3535
News Tips: (866) 55-FOX35

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices