NASA inducts Shannon Lucid and Jerry Ross into the U.S. Astronau - FOX 35 News Orlando

NASA inducts Shannon Lucid and Jerry Ross into the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame

NASA inducts Shannon Lucid and Jerry Ross into the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame

Posted: Updated:
CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla.-- KENNEDY SPACE CENTER – Space Shuttle astronauts Shannon Lucid and Jerry Ross joined an elite group of American space heroes Saturday.  They were inducted into the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame during a ceremony at Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex.

The ceremony was held in the new Space Shuttle Atlantis attraction at the Visitor Complex. Atlantis carried Lucid to Mir for her historic 188 days on the space station back in 1996, while five of Ross’ seven flights were also on Atlantis, so it’s fitting that they received this great honor underneath the gigantic shuttle.

There were 25 legendary astronauts welcoming the inductees into the special club.  The welcome committee consisted of 2013 inductees, Curt Brown and Bonnie Dunbar, as well as John Blaha, Karol “Bo” Bobko, NASA administrator Charlie Bolden, Vance Brand, Dan Brandenstein, Kennedy Space Center director Bob Cabana, Frank Culbertson, Walt Cunningham, Owen Garriott, Hoot Gibson, Dick Gordon, Fred Gregory, Fred Haise, Steve Hawley, Jeff Hoffman, Edgar Mitchell, Pinky Nelson, Charlie Precourt, Brewster Shaw, Loren Shriver, Tom Stafford, Kathy Thornton and Jim Wetherbee.

The 2014 inductees were selected by a committee of Hall of Fame astronauts, former NASA officials, flight directors, historians and journalists.  In order to be eligible for this honor, an astronaut must have made his or her first flight at least 17 years before the induction. Candidates must also be a U.S. citizen and a NASA-trained commander, pilot or mission specialist who has orbited the earth at least once.

Follow us on Pinterest


FOX 35 Weather Authority

Powered by WorldNow

35 Skyline Drive
Lake Mary, FL 32746

Phone: (407) 644-3535
News Tips: (866) 55-FOX35

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices