Andy Serkis previews 'Dawn of the Planet of the Apes' - FOX 35 News Orlando

Andy Serkis previews 'Dawn of the Planet of the Apes'

Posted: Updated:
Actor Andy Serkis stars in the Dawn of the Planet of the Apes. Actor Andy Serkis stars in the Dawn of the Planet of the Apes.
  • Andy Serkis previews 'Dawn of the Planet of the Apes'More>>

  • 'Dawn of the Planet of the Apes': Bringing apes to life

    'Dawn of the Planet of the Apes': Bringing apes to life

    Friday, July 11 2014 10:38 PM EDT2014-07-12 02:38:06 GMT
    The genetically enhanced apes from the previous film "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" inherit a post-apocalyptic San Francisco in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes." And Andy Serkis reprises his role as top-chimp Caesar. Just as the apes have evolved, so has the technology that depicts them.Through performance capture, we've seen Serkis transform into iconic characters like King Kong and Gollum from "The Lord of the Rings" series.
    The genetically enhanced apes from the previous film "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" inherit a post-apocalyptic San Francisco in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes." And Andy Serkis reprises his role as top-chimp Caesar. Just as the apes have evolved, so has the technology that depicts them.Through performance capture, we've seen Serkis transform into iconic characters like King Kong and Gollum from "The Lord of the Rings" series.
NEW YORK (MYFOXNY) - The new movie 'Dawn of the Planet of the Apes' brings viewers along for the evolution of it's stars: apes.  The film takes place before the iconic 1968 film 'Planet of the Apes' with Charlton Heston.

"That all happens after this sequence. We got back to the original series. We know where we’re going to end up which is the 1968 version," said Andy Serkis who plays Caesar.

Like the original film, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is a social commentary.

“It’s very much about empathy and prejudice and the necessity to listen to whatever family you’re defending; it’s about being able to embrace the other side. There is a real moment of hope where they both can survive,” said Serkis.

Unlike the Heston hit, the movie which opens on Friday, uses performance capture and not costumes and heavy makeup to transform the characters.

"We use performance capture. Actors drive the digital avatars of the apes. All the acting happens on the set, then the visual affects team takes all the facial expressions, everything is translated to a digital ape’s face,” said Serkis.

For more on the movie, visit DawnOfApes.com

  • Today on Good DayToday on Good DayMore>>

  • Attractive players in tennis, help or hurt?

    Attractive players in tennis, help or hurt?

    Wednesday, August 27 2014 1:19 PM EDT2014-08-27 17:19:52 GMT
    The U.S. Open is underway in Queens and there's no denying that many of the players, both men and women, are in great physical shape and know how to play that up. Women are particularly promoted in the industry as attractive, fashionable and fiercely competitive. Does that help the game and draw more people in?
    The U.S. Open is underway in Queens and there's no denying that many of the players, both men and women, are in great physical shape and know how to play that up. Women are particularly promoted in the industry as attractive, fashionable and fiercely competitive. Does that help the game and draw more people in?
  • Glamsquad app

    Hair and makeup house call

    Hair and makeup house call

    Tuesday, August 26 2014 10:27 PM EDT2014-08-27 02:27:35 GMT
    A new app is bringing the star treatment to the masses. Glamsquad delivers a hair and makeup artist to your doorstep.I invited them over to my place. Kelly did my makeup and Erin styled my mane. They helped me select a look from examples on the app and they encouraged me to tweak the looks to fit my style.
    A new app is bringing the star treatment to the masses. Glamsquad delivers a hair and makeup artist to your doorstep.I invited them over to my place. Kelly did my makeup and Erin styled my mane. They helped me select a look from examples on the app and they encouraged me to tweak the looks to fit my style.
  • 'The Singles Project' puts real-time in reality TV

    'The Singles Project' puts real-time in reality TV

    Tuesday, August 26 2014 1:42 PM EDT2014-08-26 17:42:20 GMT
    A new reality show is bringing a sense of urgency to your television screen. The show 'The Singles Project' is shot Wednesday- Saturday and airs Tuesdays at 10 p.m. on Bravo. “That's what makes the show different. We're filming in real-time. We're really on a roller coaster and it's off the rails. The social media part is just another layer,” said Joey Healy, eyebrow stylist to the stars. Healy, Lee Gause, Tabazum Mir and Kerry Cassidy are among the cast members.
    A new reality show is bringing a sense of urgency to your television screen. The show 'The Singles Project' is shot Wednesday- Saturday and airs Tuesdays at 10 p.m. on Bravo. “That's what makes the show different. We're filming in real-time. We're really on a roller coaster and it's off the rails. The social media part is just another layer,” said Joey Healy, eyebrow stylist to the stars. Healy, Lee Gause, Tabazum Mir and Kerry Cassidy are among the cast members.
Powered by WorldNow

35 Skyline Drive
Lake Mary, FL 32746

Phone: (407) 644-3535
News Tips: (866) 55-FOX35

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices