You Decide 2014: Arizona Primary Election to begin - FOX 35 News Orlando

You Decide 2014: Arizona Primary Election

Posted: Updated:
Associated Press

You Decide 2014 begins on Tuesday. The polls will be open for the 2014 Arizona Primary Election from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. Voters will choose the candidates they want to represent their party in the November general election.

Six candidates who have spent months vying to be the Republican Party's nominee in the race for Arizona governor will finally see if their efforts were successful.

Voters head to the polls Tuesday after the candidates attended more than two dozen forums and debates and collectively spent more than $10 million on the race.

In the hunt for the nomination are Secretary of State Ken Bennett, state Treasurer Doug Ducey, former GoDaddy executive Christine Jones, former Mesa Mayor Scott Smith, former Maricopa County Attorney Andrew Thomas and former California congressman Frank Riggs.

The six-way race means it's possible the winner will move on to the November general election having earned less than 30 percent of the vote. The winner faces Democrat Fred DuVal, who is unopposed in the primary.

Arizona Attorney General Tom Horne hopes to fight off a Republican challenger when voters head to the polls.

The Republican is facing a tough challenge from former state gaming department director Mark Brnovich. Whoever wins will take on Democrat Felecia Rotellini in November.

Horne has been dogged for years by campaign finance allegations against him. His legal problems have cost him support among the GOP establishment and Gov. Jan Brewer has endorsed Brnovich.

Horne calls the allegations false and says voters should look at his two Supreme Court wins and his expanded consumer protections and fight against child sex trafficking.

Brnovich says Horne's legal troubles make him unfit for the job.

Voters in a congressional district that runs from Flagstaff to the Tucson suburbs are choosing from among three Republicans battling for a chance to take on Democratic Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick in the general election.

In Phoenix, voters are choosing a Democratic successor to longtime Rep. Ed Pastor.

Arizona House Speaker Andy Tobin, state Rep. Adam Kwasman and rancher Gary Kiehne are seeking the Republican nomination in the 1st District. The swing district already is attracting big money from national parties.

Former state Rep. Ruben Gallego and one-time Maricopa County Supervisor Mary Rose Wilcox are leading the 7th Congressional District race. Whoever wins Tuesday's primary is expected to succeed Pastor.

Republicans Wendy Rogers and Andrew Walter are vying for a chance to unseat Democratic Rep. Kyrsten Sinema in the 9th District.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press modified.
Didn't find what
you were looking for?

Powered by WorldNow

35 Skyline Drive
Lake Mary, FL 32746

Phone: (407) 644-3535
News Tips: (866) 55-FOX35

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices